Home Recent Updates Sections Contact Us

The BLRC 1977
By Tracy Holmes

Belle Vue, October 15 and Ole Olsen got Title number 3 by making the entire field bow to his brilliance. Peter Collins again made him work for it and in their Heat 14 clash, Ole had to ride the fastest heat of the night. Collins threw everything at him but Ole was in total control.

Speedway's 'Crown Prince', Mike Lee made a spectacular debut beaten only by the top two and the World Speedway Champion, Ivan Mauger could only watch as the teenager swept past him in their Heat 15 encounter.

Not happy with his equipment, Ivan borrowed Alan Wilkinson's Weslake for the second half. He was "glad it happened in this one and not the World Final."

Malcolm Simmons did not arrive having his car break down en route. Other contenders, Martin Ashby and Phil Crump had both qualified but were unable to ride through injury.


Heat 1. MAUGER, Drury, Herne. Sanders ef
Heat 2. Olsen, Teromaa, Kennett, Pusey.
Heat 3. Collins, Jancarz, McMillan, Kilby.
Heat 4. Lee, Jessup, Wyer, Wilson.
Heat 5. McMillan, Pusey, Herne, Jessup.
Heat 6. Teromaa, Kilby, Sanders. Wilson ef
Heat 7. Collins, MAUGER, Kennett, Wyer.
Heat 8. Olsen, Lee, Jancarz, Drury.
Heat 9. Collins, Lee, Teromaa, Herne.
Heat 10. Jancarz, Wyer, Pusey, Sanders.
Heat 11. Olsen, MAUGER, McMillan, Wilson.
Heat 12. Kilby, Jessup, Kennett, Drury.
Heat 13. Herne, Jancarz, Wilson, Kennett.
Heat 14. Olsen, Collins, Jessup, Sanders.
Heat 15. Lee, MAUGER, Kilby, Pusey.
Heat 16. Teromaa, Wyer, McMillan, Drury.
Heat 17. Olsen, Wyer, Kilby, Herne.
Heat 18. Lee, McMillan, Kennett, Sanders.
Heat 19. MAUGER, Teromaa, Jancarz, Jessup.
Heat 20. Collins, Wislon, Pusey, Drury.


Ole Olsen Coventry 15. Peter Collins Belle Vue 14. Mike Lee Kings Lynn 13. IVAN MAUGER Exeter 12. Ila Teromaa Leicester 11. Edward Jancarz Wimbledon 9. Jim McMillan Wolverhampton 8. Bob Kilby Swindon 7. Doug Wyer Sheffield 7. Phil Herne Bristol 5. Dave Jessup Reading 5. Gordon Kennett White City 4. Ray Wilson Birmingham 3. Res Chris Pusey Halifax 3. Graham Drury Hull 2. Billy Sanders Ipswich 1. Res Steve Bastable Cradley Heath dnr. Res Keith White Hackney dnr. Malcolm Simmons Poole q ns. Martin Ashby Swindon q inj ns. Phil Crump Bristol q inj ns.


This article was first published on 4th October 2020

[ Use Desktop Version ]


Comment on this Article | Contact Us | Go Back to Main Menu

   Please leave your comments on this article