Home Contact Us Stadia Pix Articles All About You Riders to Remember
DVDs Books Pictures Archive Dream Teams Programme Generator
Dream Team: Garry Robinson
The Golden Hammer - 1996
Your Feedback
Raking Over Old Coals
The Golden Hammer - 1995
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Ode to Brough Park
The Golden Hammer - 1994
Which Craven?
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Ivan Miller
The Golden Hammer - 1993
Your Feedback
Generator - Prem Pairs
The Golden Hammer - 1992
As The Crow Flies
The Golden Hammer - 1991
Generator - Danish League
The Golden Hammer - 1990
Your Feedback
Oxford's Minor Miracle
The Golden Hammer - 1989
The Golden Hammer - 1986
The Golden Hammer - 1987
The Golden Hammer - 1988
The Golden Hammer - 1983
The Golden Hammer - 1984
The Golden Hammer - 1985
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Golden Hammer - 1980
The Golden Hammer - 1981
The Golden Hammer - 1982
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Golden Hammer - 1977
The Golden Hammer - 1978
The Golden Hammer - 1979
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Speedway Bike
Your Feedback
45 Years a Racer
Your Feedback
DVD: Sheffield Memories
Your Feedback
Ronnie's Newcastle Nightmare
Plus Points
Book Review: Where Eagles Dared
The Cheetahs Are Back!
Your Feedback
King's Lynn - Part Four
Track Pix: Redcar
Your Feedback
DVD Review: Hans Nielsen
Track Pix: Sheffield
Your Feedback
Artem Laguta
Track Pix: Birmingham
Your Feedback
King's Lynn - Part Three
KENT - Central Park
Your Feedback
Book Review: Yearbook 2020
Track Pix: Peterborough
Your Feedback
Ian Hoskins Tribute
Ian Hoskins Tribute
Your Feedback
Speedway's Black Hole
Track Pix: Mildenhall
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Kirky Lane Demolition
Cinder Kings Exhibition
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Aussies at Ipswich - 1
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Steve Langton Strikes Gold
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Book Review: Split Waterman
Your Feedback
King's Lynn - Part 2
Your Feedback
Irish Eyes Were Smiling
Plus Points
Your Feedback
King's Lynn - Part 1
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Speedway in Germany 1933
Dream Team : Kevin Huggett
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Bill Allen Mystery
Your Feedback
The Ipswich Witches
The Danger of Winning
Your Feedback
Australia 70/71
Canterbury Noise Trials
Your Feedback

The BLRC 1977
By Tracy Holmes

Belle Vue, October 15 and Ole Olsen got Title number 3 by making the entire field bow to his brilliance. Peter Collins again made him work for it and in their Heat 14 clash, Ole had to ride the fastest heat of the night. Collins threw everything at him but Ole was in total control.

Speedway's 'Crown Prince', Mike Lee made a spectacular debut beaten only by the top two and the World Speedway Champion, Ivan Mauger could only watch as the teenager swept past him in their Heat 15 encounter.

Not happy with his equipment, Ivan borrowed Alan Wilkinson's Weslake for the second half. He was "glad it happened in this one and not the World Final."

Malcolm Simmons did not arrive having his car break down en route. Other contenders, Martin Ashby and Phil Crump had both qualified but were unable to ride through injury.


Heat 1. MAUGER, Drury, Herne. Sanders ef
Heat 2. Olsen, Teromaa, Kennett, Pusey.
Heat 3. Collins, Jancarz, McMillan, Kilby.
Heat 4. Lee, Jessup, Wyer, Wilson.
Heat 5. McMillan, Pusey, Herne, Jessup.
Heat 6. Teromaa, Kilby, Sanders. Wilson ef
Heat 7. Collins, MAUGER, Kennett, Wyer.
Heat 8. Olsen, Lee, Jancarz, Drury.
Heat 9. Collins, Lee, Teromaa, Herne.
Heat 10. Jancarz, Wyer, Pusey, Sanders.
Heat 11. Olsen, MAUGER, McMillan, Wilson.
Heat 12. Kilby, Jessup, Kennett, Drury.
Heat 13. Herne, Jancarz, Wilson, Kennett.
Heat 14. Olsen, Collins, Jessup, Sanders.
Heat 15. Lee, MAUGER, Kilby, Pusey.
Heat 16. Teromaa, Wyer, McMillan, Drury.
Heat 17. Olsen, Wyer, Kilby, Herne.
Heat 18. Lee, McMillan, Kennett, Sanders.
Heat 19. MAUGER, Teromaa, Jancarz, Jessup.
Heat 20. Collins, Wislon, Pusey, Drury.


Ole Olsen Coventry 15. Peter Collins Belle Vue 14. Mike Lee Kings Lynn 13. IVAN MAUGER Exeter 12. Ila Teromaa Leicester 11. Edward Jancarz Wimbledon 9. Jim McMillan Wolverhampton 8. Bob Kilby Swindon 7. Doug Wyer Sheffield 7. Phil Herne Bristol 5. Dave Jessup Reading 5. Gordon Kennett White City 4. Ray Wilson Birmingham 3. Res Chris Pusey Halifax 3. Graham Drury Hull 2. Billy Sanders Ipswich 1. Res Steve Bastable Cradley Heath dnr. Res Keith White Hackney dnr. Malcolm Simmons Poole q ns. Martin Ashby Swindon q inj ns. Phil Crump Bristol q inj ns.


This article was first published on 4th October 2020

[ Use Mobile Version ]


Comment on this Article | Contact Us | Go Back to Main Menu

   Please leave your comments on this article or on the site as a whole