Home Contact Us Stadia Pix Articles All About You Riders to Remember
DVDs Books Pictures Archive Dream Teams Programme Generator
Dream Team : Geoff Langley
Your Feedback
Gerald Dunn's JAP
Your Feedback
1975 World Final. Heat 20.
Your Feedback
Peter Collins Autobiography
Your Feedback
DVD Review: 70s - A to Z
Your Feedback
Why is it in decline?
Plus Points
Dream Team: Garry Robinson
The Golden Hammer - 1996
Your Feedback
Raking Over Old Coals
The Golden Hammer - 1995
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Ode to Brough Park
The Golden Hammer - 1994
Which Craven?
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Ivan Miller
The Golden Hammer - 1993
Your Feedback
Generator - Prem Pairs
The Golden Hammer - 1992
As The Crow Flies
The Golden Hammer - 1991
Generator - Danish League
The Golden Hammer - 1990
Your Feedback
Oxford's Minor Miracle
The Golden Hammer - 1989
The Golden Hammer - 1986
The Golden Hammer - 1987
The Golden Hammer - 1988
The Golden Hammer - 1983
The Golden Hammer - 1984
The Golden Hammer - 1985
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Golden Hammer - 1980
The Golden Hammer - 1981
The Golden Hammer - 1982
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Golden Hammer - 1977
The Golden Hammer - 1978
The Golden Hammer - 1979
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Speedway Bike
Your Feedback
45 Years a Racer
Your Feedback

The Golden Hammer - 1986
By Tracy Holmes and Steve Baker

July 23. 1986.

Steve Johnson for Speedway Star tells us all about it. "Man of the moment Erik Gundersen produced another superb performance to leave a World Class field in his wake and carry off the prestigious Golden Hammer for the first time. Gundersen was a class above the rest as he romped to five brilliant victories, finishing four points ahead of his nearest challengers Simon Cross and Neil Evitts. The consistency shown by the World Champion was something the other riders simply could not match, his rivals faltering in turn and combining to ruin each other's chances. Shawn Moran was forced to retire after his third ride when he aggravated his ankle injury."

Heat 1. Cross, Eskildsen, Nielsen, Doncaster.
Heat 2. Evitts, Phil Collins, Knudsen, Morton.
Heat 3. Gundersen, King, Pedersen. Ermolenko ef
Heat 4. S Moran, Schwartz, Wigg, Bastable.
Heat 5. Morton, Schwartz, Eskildsen, Ermolenko.
Heat 6. Wigg, King, Evitts, Doncaster.
Heat 7. Gundersen, Nielsen, S Moran, Knudsen.
Heat 8. Cross, Phil Collins, Pedersen, Bastable.
Heat 9. Gundersen, Evitts, Eskildsen, Fry. Bastable ex/2 mins
Heat 10. Pedersen, Doncaster, Morton, S Moran.
Heat 11. Wigg, Ermolenko, Phil Collins, Nielsen.
Heat 12. King, Cross, Knudsen, Schwartz.
Heat 13. Knudsen, Pedersen, Wigg, Eskildsen.
Heat 14. Gundersen, Doncaster, Schwartz, Phil Collins.
Heat 15. Nielsen, Bastable, King, Morton.
Heat 16. Evitts, Cross, Ermolenko, Leaver. S Moran inj ns
Heat 17. Phil Collins, King, Eskildsen, Fry. S Moran inj ns
Heat 18. Ermolenko, Bastable, Knudsen, Doncaster.
Heat 19. Nielsen, Evitts, Pedersen. Schwartz ef
Heat 20. Gundersen, Wigg, Cross, Morton.
2nd place run-off. Cross, Evitts.

Erik Gundersen 15. Simon Cross 11. Neil Evitts 11. Lance King 10. Simon Wigg 10. Hans Nielsen 9. Phil Collins 8. Jan O Pedersen 8. Tommy Knudsen 6. Sam Ermolenko 6. John Eskildsen 5. Bobby Schwartz 5. Jeremy Doncaster 4. Chris Morton 4. Shawn Moran 4. Steve Bastable 4. Res Paul Fry 0. Res Nigel Leaver 0. Andy Grahame ns. Kelly Moran inj ns.


This article was first published on 3rd April 2022

[ Use Mobile Version ]


Comment on this Article | Contact Us | Go Back to Main Menu

   Please leave your comments on this article or on the site as a whole