Home Contact Us Stadia Pix Articles All About You Riders to Remember
DVDs Books Pictures Archive Dream Teams Programme Generator
Dream Team : Geoff Langley
Your Feedback
Gerald Dunn's JAP
Your Feedback
1975 World Final. Heat 20.
Your Feedback
Peter Collins Autobiography
Your Feedback
DVD Review: 70s - A to Z
Your Feedback
Why is it in decline?
Plus Points
Dream Team: Garry Robinson
The Golden Hammer - 1996
Your Feedback
Raking Over Old Coals
The Golden Hammer - 1995
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Ode to Brough Park
The Golden Hammer - 1994
Which Craven?
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Ivan Miller
The Golden Hammer - 1993
Your Feedback
Generator - Prem Pairs
The Golden Hammer - 1992
As The Crow Flies
The Golden Hammer - 1991
Generator - Danish League
The Golden Hammer - 1990
Your Feedback
Oxford's Minor Miracle
The Golden Hammer - 1989
The Golden Hammer - 1986
The Golden Hammer - 1987
The Golden Hammer - 1988
The Golden Hammer - 1983
The Golden Hammer - 1984
The Golden Hammer - 1985
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Golden Hammer - 1980
The Golden Hammer - 1981
The Golden Hammer - 1982
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Golden Hammer - 1977
The Golden Hammer - 1978
The Golden Hammer - 1979
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Speedway Bike
Your Feedback
45 Years a Racer
Your Feedback

The Golden Hammer - 1987
By Tracy Holmes and Steve Baker

July 15. 1987.

Home favourite and defending Hammer holder, Erik Gundersen let no-one down as he scorched to his second straight Title with his second straight maximum. He equalled Kenny Carter's record of twice being the winner and became the first to successfully defend the Title.

The World Champion, Hans Nielsen had to settle for second place for the third time. Maybe only taking some consolation in beating Cradley's Simon Cross in the run-off.

There was just one ripple in the Matrix as Cradley's David Walsh took a nasty tumble in round five, breaking his collarbone.

Heat 1. Pedersen, Cross, Phil Collins, King ef
Heat 2. S Moran, Andy Grahame, Tatum, Silver.
Heat 3. Gundersen, Dugard, Wigg. Jakobsen ef
Heat 4. Nielsen, Ermolenko, Doncaster, Walsh.
Heat 5. Wigg, King, Silver, Walsh.
Heat 6. Gundersen, Tatum, Pedersen, Ermolenko.
Heat 7. Cross, Nielsen, S Moran, Jakobsen.
Heat 8. Andy Grahame, Dugard, Phil Collins, Doncaster.
Heat 9. Tatum, King, Jakobsen, Doncaster.
Heat 10. Nielsen, Pedersen, Dugard, Silver.
Heat 11. Cross, Wigg, Andy Grahame, Ermolenko.
Heat 12. Gundersen, Phil Collins, S Moran, Walsh.
Heat 13. Ermolenko, King, S Moran, Dugard.
Heat 14. Pedersen, Andy Grahame, Walsh, Jakobsen.
Heat 15. Gundersen, Cross, Silver, Doncaster.
Heat 16. Nielsen, Wigg, Tatum, Phil Collins.
Heat 17. Gundersen, Nielsen, Andy Grahame, King.
Heat 18. Doncaster, Wigg, Pedersen, S Moran.
Heat 19. Cross, Dugard, Tatum. Walsh f/ex
Heat 20. Ermolenko, Phil Collins, Silver. Jakobsen fall
2nd place run-off. Nielsen, Cross.

Erik Gundersen 15. Hans Nielsen 13. Simon Cross 13. Jan O Pedersen 10. Simon Wigg 10. Andy Grahame 9. Kelvin Tatum 8. Sam Ermolenko 8. Martin Dugard 7. Lance King 6. Phil Collins 6. Shawn Moran 6. Jeremy Doncaster 4. Andrew Silver 3. Jan Jakobsen 1. David Walsh 1. Res Dean Barker dnr. Res Paul Fry dnr. Paul Thorp ns. Kelly Moran ns.


This article was first published on 3rd April 2022

[ Use Mobile Version ]


Comment on this Article | Contact Us | Go Back to Main Menu

   Please leave your comments on this article or on the site as a whole