Home Contact Us Stadia Pix Articles All About You Riders to Remember
DVDs Books Pictures Archive Dream Teams Programme Generator
A Bandits' Dozen
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1998
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Ivan Mauger
Opening Nights: Shawfield
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1997
Your Feedback
Alf Kaines
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1996
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Laydowns Killed the Spectacle
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1995
Plus Points
Your Feedback
A Night to Remember
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1994
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Book Review: Bert Harkins
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1993
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Leningrad Visit Britain
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1992
Plus Points
Your Feedback
90th Anniversary Celebration
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1991
Plus Points
It's All About You: Richard Goodwin
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1990
Your Feedback
Where Were They Then?
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1989
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Track Pix: UFA
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1988
New Book: Bert Harkins Biog.
Your Feedback
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1987
Your Feedback
It's All About You: Colin Hodgson
Plaque for Road Bikes
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1986
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Riders to Remember: Wal Morton
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1985
Your Feedback
It's All About You....Paul Davey
2018 NZ Championship
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1984
Plus Points
Your Feedback

Kiwis in the Overseas Final - 1986
By Tracy Holmes

With the Commonwealth Final coming back into play this year, Larry Ross and Mitch Shirra took full advantage, qualifying to the Overseas Final, staged at Coventry on June 29. The NZ Champion David Bargh just missed out, getting through as reserve. Things only got worse however as injury prevented him from taking that spot.

On the day, with 9 to qualify to the Intercontinental Final at Bradford on July 20, Shirra overcame a round one duck to safely book his ticket. Disappointment for Ross however and a heat 15 exclusion on two minutes was fiercely protested. He was leading when Phil Crump fell. To go out like this was a painful exit indeed.


Heat 1. Doncaster, C Morton, Cox, ROSS.

2. Ermolenko, Baker, Simmons, SHIRRA.

7. Ermolenko, K Moran, ROSS, Schwartz.

8. Doncaster, SHIRRA, Tatum. Miller ef

11. Evitts, ROSS, SHIRRA, King.

14. SHIRRA, C Morton, Thorp, Schwartz.

15. Baker, Miller, Regeling. ROSS ex/2 mins. Crump f/ex

17. SHIRRA, Cox, Crump, K Moran.

19. Tatum, ROSS, Thorp, Simmons.


Sam Ermolenko 14. Jeremy Doncaster 12. Neil Evitts 11. Marvyn Cox 10. Chris Morton 10. MITCH SHIRRA 9. Kelvin Tatum 9. Kelly Moran 8. Steve Baker 7. All qualify.

Paul Thorp 6. Phil Crump 5. LARRY ROSS 5. Bobby Schwartz 5. Rick Miller res 5. Malcolm Simmons res 2. Lance King 1. Steve Regeling res 1. Shawn Moran 0.


This article was first published on 21st January 2018

[ Use Mobile Version ]


Comment on this Article | Contact Us | Go Back to Main Menu

   Please leave your comments on this article or on the site as a whole