Home Contact Us Stadia Pix Articles All About You Riders to Remember
DVDs Books Pictures Archive Dream Teams Programme Generator
Ivan Mauger V Britain's Best
Part 4: Dave Jessup
Your Feedback
Ivan Mauger V Britain's Best
Part 3: Malcolm Simmons
Your Feedback
Ivan Mauger V Britain's Best
Part 2: Ray Wilson
Your Feedback
Ivan Mauger V Britain's Best
Part 1:Nigel Boocock
Your Feedback
Silver Machine Win Gold
Ivan's Fantasy Island
Your Feedback
Tidying Up The Parade
NZ v Australia 1980
Your Feedback
2024 is Off and Running
The Story of Noddy Holder
Your Feedback
1975/76 NZ v England
Your Feedback
DVD: Great Races of the 80s
What's Wrong With Ambition?
Your Feedback
Book Review: Walthamstow
When the Rangers Roared
High Beech Revival of 1954
Your Feedback
Western Springs Winged Wheels
Grand Pricks?
Your Feedback
Blind Speedway Rider
Track Pix: Oxford
Farcical Guest
Your Feedback
The Ole Olsen Tapes
Dream Team: Richard Cleaver
Plus Points
Your Feedback
1974/75 BL V New Zealand
Heat Details Required
Your Feedback
Northside Arena
Review: Tigers at White City
Your Feedback
How to halt the decline
NZ v Poland - 1st Test
NZ v Poland - 2nd Test
NZ v Poland - 3rd Test
NZ v Poland - 4th Test
Track Pictures: North Brisbane
It's All About You: Lionel King
Your Feedback
Dream Team : Geoff Langley
Your Feedback
Gerald Dunn's JAP
Your Feedback
1975 World Final. Heat 20.
Your Feedback
Peter Collins Autobiography
Your Feedback
DVD Review: 70s - A to Z
Your Feedback

Kiwis in the Overseas Final - 1999
By Tracy Holmes

It was a thrilling end to the NZ Champs at Templeton near Christchurch.

A triple run-off on 13 points each saw the veteran David Bargh grimly hold on to the lead with Mark Jamieson, the home favourite hunting him down. On the third lap, Jamieson forced his way through and Bargh was unable to hold on, sliding into the dirt. Andy Walker then chased as hard as he could but fell on the last corner.

Jamieson thoroughly deserved the title, it's a whole other story what happened the year before. Walker was second, Bargh third and defending Champion, Paul Atkins fourth. It was a brilliant night of thrills, spills, controversy and protests. Everything a traditional, one off speedway meeting should be.

So who went to the Overseas Final ? None of them. Infact, no Kiwi rep whatsoever! What's the matter with the mill? Done broke down!


1999 Overseas Final. Kings Lynn. June 13. Top 8 to Intercontinental Final at Poole, July 18.

Mark Loram 15. Scott Nicholls 14. Jason Lyons 13. Todd Wiltshire 11. Carl Stonehewer 11. Gary Havelock 10. Paul Hurry 8. Sean Wilson 8. All qualify.

Josh Larsen 6. Dean Barker 5. Nigel Sadler 5. Frank Smart 5. Stuart Robson 5. Jim Sisemore 2. Mike Faria 2. Bart Bast 0.


1981 - 1982 - 1983 - 1984 - 1985 - 1986 - 1987 - 1988 - 1989 - 1990 - 1991 - 1992 - 1993 - 1994 - 1995 - 1996 - 1997 - 1998 - 1999 - 2000/01


This article was first published on 29th April 2018

[ Use Mobile Version ]


  • Tracy Holmes:

    "Just been in touch with Nathan Murray who was selected to ride and appears in the programme at number 6. Sadly, he was unable to travel due to a lack of funds. So adding to the scorechart; NATHAN MURRAY Q ns."  


    Comment on this Article | Contact Us | Go Back to Main Menu

  •    Please leave your comments on this article or on the site as a whole