Home Contact Us Stadia Pix Articles All About You Riders to Remember
DVDs Books Pictures Archive Dream Teams Programme Generator
2020 Review - Part 4
Still Flying High
Your Feedback
2020 Review - Part 3
Harold MacNaughton
Your Feedback
Olle Nygren
2020 Review - Part 2
Your Feedback
2020 Review - Part 1
Your Feedback
Debut: Joe Screen
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Review: Blood & Cinders
Your Feedback
Tai Deserves a Gong
The J.A.P is Modern Art
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Snapshots of Yesteryear
Snapshots of Yesteryear
Snapshots of Yesteryear
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Polish Problem
Mauger, Nielsen. World Finals.
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Simon Wigg Racing Plus!
Review: Saving Speedway
Great Races of the 70s/80s
The BLRC 1984
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Book Review: Dave Jessup
The BLRC 1983
Leif "Basse" Hveem
Your Feedback
When Did it Start to Decline?
The BLRC 1982
Tracking Down the Swagman
Your Feedback
Review: Before Air Fences
Your Feedback
Review: Who Gates Wins
The BLRC 1980
Owlerton in the Sixties
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Doyle's Triple Crown
The BLRC 1979
Your Feedback
New Cross Album 1936
The BLRC 1978
Your Feedback
Sheffield 60s & 70s
The BLRC 1977
John Pilblad
Your Feedback

The BLRC 1970
By Tracy Holmes

Belle Vue, October 17. The Swinging 60s were over and the Sensational 70s were in full flight. Comeback master, Ronnie Moore made his debut in this Classic and Nigel Boocock was able to line up again, despite injuries from a horror crash in the Brandonapolis a few weeks earlier.

FRANK MACLEAN tells us all about the night for Speedway Star;

'Barry Briggs roared to his sixth successive BLRC to make history before the 25,000 fans at the Belle Vue stadium, Manchester on Saturday night. But the bustling Barry didn't have it all his own way this time for he was forced into a decider against Anders Michanek and Eric Boocock after the top trio had completed five rides with 13 points. And Michanek's persistent challenge in a thrilling run-off for the big money didn't permit Barry a chance of claiming his 1970 Title right up to the very last yard of that race. Mind you, Barry did have the look of a champion after disposing of Ronnie Moore and Martin Ashby in his second ride but the contest was certainly blown wide open when a shock defeat by Michanek and Eric Boocock staggered the Swindon rider in heat 10. Then a bit of luck for Barry in Heat 13 when World Champion Ivan Mauger suffered exclusion for breaking the tapes.'

So, the mighty Briggo, a track colossus made it 6 in a row! An amazing achievement that pays tribute to the 4 time Champion of the World. Was Anders Michanek told to 'pig off' just before the run-off? See the snap in your 'The Champions Book of Speedway No 2', page 110. Just what is Briggo saying? And study Anders reaction. Magic son, magic!

Ronnie Moore made a wonderful impression only dropping 3 points to Briggs, Mauger and Michanek. And Nigel Boocock could also walk away with his head held high, a total of 10 points and helping brother Eric into that run-off.

But the night belonged to Briggo, BLRC number 6. Could this ever be equaled or broken? Not even in the mix!!!!!!


Heat 1. MOORE, E Boocock, Persson, Nygren.
Heat 2. Michanek, N Boocock, Olsen, Ashby.
Heat 3. BRIGGS, Eide, Monk, Betts.
Heat 4. MAUGER, Airey, Holmqvist, Wilson.
Heat 5. Airey, Michanek, Eide, Nygren.
Heat 6. E Boocock, Olsen, MAUGER, Betts.
Heat 7. N Boocock, Wilson, Persson, Monk.
Heat 8. BRIGGS, MOORE, Ashby, Holmqvist.
Heat 9. Monk, Olsen, Nygren, Holmqvist.
Heat 10. Michanek, E Boocock, BRIGGS, Wilson.
Heat 11. MAUGER, Eide, Ashby, Persson.
Heat 12. MOORE, Airey, N Boocock, Betts.
Heat 13. BRIGGS, N Boocock, Levai. Nygren. MAUGER ex/tapes
Heat 14. E Boocock, Ashby, Airey, Monk.
Heat 15. Michanek, Betts, Persson, Holmqvist.
Heat 16. MOORE, Wilson, Eide, Olsen.
Heat 17. Ashby, Betts, Wilson, Nygren.
Heat 18. E Boocock, N Boocock, Eide, Holmqvist.
Heat 19. BRIGGS, Persson, Airey, Olsen.
Heat 20. MAUGER, Michanek, MOORE, Monk.
1st place run-off. BRIGGS, Michanek, E Boocock.


BARRY BRIGGS Swindon 13. Anders Michanek Newcastle 13. Eric Boocock Halifax 13. RONNIE MOORE Wimbledon 12. IVAN MAUGER Belle Vue 10. Nigel Boocock Coventry 10. Jim Airey Sheffield 9. Martin Ashby Exeter 7. Reider Eide Wembley 7. Ray Wilson Leicester 5. Ole Olsen Wolverhampton 5. Bernt Persson Cradley Heath 5. Charlie Monk Glasgow 4. Terry Betts Kings Lynn 4. Olle Nygren West Ham 1. Hasse Holmqvist Oxford 1. Res Sandor Levai Newport 1. Res Garry Middleton Hackney dnr. Res Gordon Gausco Poole dnr.


This article was first published on 2nd August 2020

[ Use Mobile Version ]


Comment on this Article | Contact Us | Go Back to Main Menu

   Please leave your comments on this article or on the site as a whole