Home Contact Us Stadia Pix Articles All About You Riders to Remember
DVDs Books Pictures Archive Dream Teams Programme Generator
Dream Team: Garry Robinson
The Golden Hammer - 1996
Your Feedback
Raking Over Old Coals
The Golden Hammer - 1995
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Ode to Brough Park
The Golden Hammer - 1994
Which Craven?
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Ivan Miller
The Golden Hammer - 1993
Your Feedback
Generator - Prem Pairs
The Golden Hammer - 1992
As The Crow Flies
The Golden Hammer - 1991
Generator - Danish League
The Golden Hammer - 1990
Your Feedback
Oxford's Minor Miracle
The Golden Hammer - 1989
The Golden Hammer - 1986
The Golden Hammer - 1987
The Golden Hammer - 1988
The Golden Hammer - 1983
The Golden Hammer - 1984
The Golden Hammer - 1985
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Golden Hammer - 1980
The Golden Hammer - 1981
The Golden Hammer - 1982
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Golden Hammer - 1977
The Golden Hammer - 1978
The Golden Hammer - 1979
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Speedway Bike
Your Feedback
45 Years a Racer
Your Feedback
DVD: Sheffield Memories
Your Feedback
Ronnie's Newcastle Nightmare
Plus Points
Book Review: Where Eagles Dared
The Cheetahs Are Back!
Your Feedback
King's Lynn - Part Four
Track Pix: Redcar
Your Feedback
DVD Review: Hans Nielsen
Track Pix: Sheffield
Your Feedback
Artem Laguta
Track Pix: Birmingham
Your Feedback
King's Lynn - Part Three
KENT - Central Park
Your Feedback
Book Review: Yearbook 2020
Track Pix: Peterborough
Your Feedback
Ian Hoskins Tribute
Ian Hoskins Tribute
Your Feedback
Speedway's Black Hole
Track Pix: Mildenhall
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Kirky Lane Demolition
Cinder Kings Exhibition
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Aussies at Ipswich - 1
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Steve Langton Strikes Gold
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Book Review: Split Waterman
Your Feedback
King's Lynn - Part 2
Your Feedback
Irish Eyes Were Smiling
Plus Points
Your Feedback
King's Lynn - Part 1
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Speedway in Germany 1933
Dream Team : Kevin Huggett
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Bill Allen Mystery
Your Feedback
The Ipswich Witches
The Danger of Winning
Your Feedback
Australia 70/71
Canterbury Noise Trials
Your Feedback

The BLRC 1979
By Tracy Holmes

Belle Vue, October 20 and Ipswich Witch, 38 year old John Louis had his opponents spellbound! After a Round 1 defeat by Malcolm Simmons, Louis reeled off 4 wins to secure the last BLRC of the decade. But he had to do it the hard way. Heat 18 was the decider with Louis on 11 points equal with Bruce Penhall [ beaten by Mike Lee ] and the home favourite, Peter Collins [ beaten by Larry Ross & Scott Autrey ] on 10. And right with them, Phil Crump, who after a first Round duck, had scored three straight wins!

The tapes went up and Penhall shot to the lead but Louis took him down the back straight. Penhall did all he could but to no avail and with Collins never giving up, Tiger deservedly took the Title after 4 laps of dazzling dynamite! Penhall was Star Spangled, Collins' hopes mangled and Crumpy disentangled. [ That makes no sense! True but it does rhyme. ]

Mike Lee made up for last years debacle and standing in for the injured Edward Jancarz, Wimbledon's Larry Ross again showed what a danger he could be to the Top Guns. Ole Olsen had one of those nights while the Champion of the World, Ivan Mauger made this his 15th consecutive and final BLRC. Under injury cloud and his career catching up with him, the 40 year old was a shadow of his usual self but his last heat victory over Hans Nielsen and Ole Olsen would have brought on a wry smile for sure.


Heat 1. Lee, Nielsen, Kennett, Crump.
Heat 2. Simmons, Louis, MAUGER, Davis.
Heat 3. ROSS, Collins, Cartwright, Grahame.
Heat 4. Penhall, Olsen, Autrey, Titman.
Heat 5. Collins, Olsen, Davis, Kennett.
Heat 6. Crump, ROSS, Autrey. MAUGER nf.
Heat 7. Louis, Nielsen, Titman, Grahame.
Heat 8. Lee, Penhall, Cartwright, Simmons.
Heat 9. Penhall, MAUGER, Grahame, Kennett.
Heat 10. Crump, Davis, Cartwright, Titman.
Heat 11. Autrey, Collins, Nielsen, Simmons.
Heat 12. Louis, Lee, ROSS, Olsen.
Heat 13. Louis, Cartwright, Autrey, Kennett.
Heat 14. Crump, Olsen, Simmons, Grahame.
Heat 15. Penhall, Nielsen, ROSS, Davis.
Heat 16. Collins, Titman, Lee, MAUGER.
Heat 17. ROSS, Titman, Simmons, Kennett.
Heat 18. Louis, Penhall, Collins, Crump.
Heat 19. MAUGER, Nielsen, Olsen, Cartwright.
Heat 20. Lee, Autrey, Davis, Grahame.


John Louis Ipswich 14. Bruce Penhall Cradley Heath 13. Mike Lee Kings Lynn 12. Peter Collins Belle Vue 11. LARRY ROSS Wimbledon 10. Phil Crump Swindon 9. Hans Nielsen Wolverhampton 9. Scott Autrey Exeter 8. Ole Olsen Coventry 7. IVAN MAUGER Hull 6. Malcolm Simmons Poole 5. Ian Cartwright Halifax 5. John Titman Leicester 5. John Davis Reading 4. Andy Grahame Birmingham 1. Gordon Kennett Eastbourne 1. Res Reg Wilson Sheffield dnr. Res Finn Thomsen Hackney dnr. Edward Jancarz Wimbledon q inj ns.


This article was first published on 25th October 2020

[ Use Mobile Version ]


Comment on this Article | Contact Us | Go Back to Main Menu

   Please leave your comments on this article or on the site as a whole