Home Contact Us Stadia Pix Articles All About You Riders to Remember
DVDs Books Pictures Archive Dream Teams Programme Generator
Tidying Up The Parade
NZ v Australia 1980
Your Feedback
2024 is Off and Running
The Story of Noddy Holder
Your Feedback
1975/76 NZ v England
Your Feedback
DVD: Great Races of the 80s
What's Wrong With Ambition?
Your Feedback
Book Review: Walthamstow
When the Rangers Roared
High Beech Revival of 1954
Your Feedback
Western Springs Winged Wheels
Grand Pricks?
Your Feedback
Blind Speedway Rider
Track Pix: Oxford
Farcical Guest
Your Feedback
The Ole Olsen Tapes
Dream Team: Richard Cleaver
Plus Points
Your Feedback
1974/75 BL V New Zealand
Heat Details Required
Your Feedback
Northside Arena
Review: Tigers at White City
Your Feedback
How to halt the decline
NZ v Poland - 1st Test
NZ v Poland - 2nd Test
NZ v Poland - 3rd Test
NZ v Poland - 4th Test
Track Pictures: North Brisbane
It's All About You: Lionel King
Your Feedback
Dream Team : Geoff Langley
Your Feedback
Gerald Dunn's JAP
Your Feedback
1975 World Final. Heat 20.
Your Feedback
Peter Collins Autobiography
Your Feedback
DVD Review: 70s - A to Z
Your Feedback

The Internationale 1971
By Tracy Holmes

Normal transmission was resumed and four riders from Kiwiland were in the programme; Ivan Mauger, Barry Briggs, Ronnie Moore and at reserve, Bruce Cribb. And from the previous years World Final, 1st, 2nd and 3rd; Ivan Mauger, Pawel Waloszek and Antoni Woryna. All that was left was for Harry Callahan to ask, "Do you feel lucky? Well do ya punk?"

The Wills Internationale was held on May 31 and after 4 rounds, Wimbledon's own Ronnie Moore was unbeaten. Philip Rising from 'Speedway Star' said, "I don't think I have ever seen a better exhibition of what Speedway racing is all about."

Since he lost the run-off to Ove Fundin in 1961, here at last, Ronnie was 4 laps away from the glittering prize. Nearest rivals Ivan Mauger and Garry Middelton had dropped two points each. Then Jim Airey did Ronnie a favour by beating Middelton in heat 19. The heat 20 decider saw Ronnie face Ivan, Ole Olsen and Bert Harkins.

Here is how Ronnie saw it,

"My luck seemed to be in when I drew lane four on the grid for my final heat. The Eso looked to be as good as mine. Originally, my plan was to hang back, keep out of trouble and ride for second place. But I made such a successful gate that I had no alternative but to go all-out for victory. The thing was to keep clear of everyone else. And for the first two laps I did. It was just too easy. And this was my downfall. On the third lap I started looking behind me and when I realised how far I was ahead I deliberately slowed down. Ivan and Ole were riding 'right on the edge' trying to regain the ground they had lost and I let them creep up on me. But I was still in a safe position when on the last corner of the third lap - disaster! Without warning, the back of the JAP slid out wildly from underneath me. I tried desperately to correct it but the bike reared up and threw me onto the track."

Yes, Ronnie had been thrown off like a rodeo rider bucked off a bronco. Mauger was right behind him but on the outside. Ronnie continues,

"What a let down! I felt like digging a hole, throwing my bike in and jumping after it."

Thankfully, Ronnie was not badly injured but he was excluded. Mauger won the re-run and the brand new Jawa. He told the press,

"I didn't win, I came second really. But that's how it goes and I feel both proud and sad to have won. It was Ronnie's trophy really and all I can say is how sorry I am for him."

Ronnie was left with 12 points equal with Garry Middelton but was in no condition to face the 2nd place run-off, awarded to the Aussie. To quote Dirty Harry, "Awe Shit!"

Well, despite the heartache we all felt for Ronnie, Speedway was the winner and this meeting really was one of the all time classics! Could it get any better? What would Dirty Harry say? "Go ahead, make my day!"


Heat 1. MOORE, Wilson, N Boocock, McMillan.
Heat 2. Betts, Olsen, Michanek, Airey.
Heat 3. Hedge, MAUGER, E Boocock, Waloszek.
Heat 4. Middelton, BRIGGS, Woryna, Harkins.
Heat 5. Middelton, Wilson, Olsen, Hedge.
Heat 6. Airey, N Boocock, Harkins, E Boocock.
Heat 7. Michanek, MAUGER, McMillan, Lofqvist. Woryna ex/tapes.
Heat 8. MOORE, BRIGGS, Betts, Waloszek.
Heat 9. MAUGER, BRIGGS, Wilson, Airey.
Heat 10. Olsen, N Boocock, Woryna, Waloszek.
Heat 11. Betts, McMillan, Hedge, Harkins.
Heat 12. MOORE, Middelton, Michanek, E Boocock.
Heat 13. Wilson, Michanek, Harkins, Waloszek.
Heat 14. MAUGER, Middelton, Betts, N Boocock.
Heat 15. Olsen, BRIGGS, E Boocock, McMillan.
Heat 16. MOORE, Airey, Hedge, Woryna.
Heat 17. Wilson, Betts, E Boocock, Woryna.
Heat 18. N Boocock, BRIGGS, Michanek, Hedge.
Heat 19. Airey, Middelton, McMillan, Waloszek.
Heat 20. MAUGER, Harkins. Olsen ret. MOORE fall/ex.
2nd place run-off, awarded. Middelton. MOORE inj ns.


IVAN MAUGER 13. Garry Middelton 12. RONNIE MOORE 12. Ray Wilson 11. Terry Betts 10. BARRY BRIGGS 10. Ole Olsen 9. Jim Airey 8. Nigel Boocock 8. Anders Michanek 8. Trevor Hedge 5. Jim McMillan 4. Bert Harkins 4. Eric Boocock 3. Antoni Woryna 2. Pawel Waloszek 0. Res Christer Lofqvist 0. Res BRUCE CRIBB dnr.


This article was first published on 22nd March 2020

[ Use Mobile Version ]


Comment on this Article | Contact Us | Go Back to Main Menu

   Please leave your comments on this article or on the site as a whole