Home Contact Us Stadia Pix Articles All About You Riders to Remember
DVDs Books Pictures Archive Dream Teams Programme Generator
Ivan Mauger V Britain's Best
Part 3: Malcolm Simmons
Your Feedback
Ivan Mauger V Britain's Best
Part 2: Ray Wilson
Your Feedback
Ivan Mauger V Britain's Best
Part 1:Nigel Boocock
Your Feedback
Silver Machine Win Gold
Ivan's Fantasy Island
Your Feedback
Tidying Up The Parade
NZ v Australia 1980
Your Feedback
2024 is Off and Running
The Story of Noddy Holder
Your Feedback
1975/76 NZ v England
Your Feedback
DVD: Great Races of the 80s
What's Wrong With Ambition?
Your Feedback
Book Review: Walthamstow
When the Rangers Roared
High Beech Revival of 1954
Your Feedback
Western Springs Winged Wheels
Grand Pricks?
Your Feedback
Blind Speedway Rider
Track Pix: Oxford
Farcical Guest
Your Feedback
The Ole Olsen Tapes
Dream Team: Richard Cleaver
Plus Points
Your Feedback
1974/75 BL V New Zealand
Heat Details Required
Your Feedback
Northside Arena
Review: Tigers at White City
Your Feedback
How to halt the decline
NZ v Poland - 1st Test
NZ v Poland - 2nd Test
NZ v Poland - 3rd Test
NZ v Poland - 4th Test
Track Pictures: North Brisbane
It's All About You: Lionel King
Your Feedback
Dream Team : Geoff Langley
Your Feedback
Gerald Dunn's JAP
Your Feedback
1975 World Final. Heat 20.
Your Feedback
Peter Collins Autobiography
Your Feedback
DVD Review: 70s - A to Z
Your Feedback

The Internationale 1976
By Tracy Holmes

Monday May 31 and hours of rain reflected the mood. Eleven days earlier, Wimbledon's own Tommy Jansson had been killed racing in Sweden. The club never recovered and Speedway lost one of it's very brightest stars.

Ole Olsen was not on parade. The World Champion was in a spot of bother with the Danish Motor Union who banned him from lining up. John Louis, Scott Autrey and Dag Lovaas all declined invites to appear. Lone Kiwi was Ivan Mauger. A 15 point maximum for Exeter in the morning, yet again saw his evening's performance being as 'middle tar' as one of Embassy's Virginia filters. And that led him to make this his last Internationale.

After a decade of appearances and with Ove Fundin, sharing the record of 3 in a row, Ivan, now in his mid 30s, conceded it was all too much. He had specific goals left to reach in Speedway and winning the Internationale again was not one of them. As a meeting, The Internationale never recovered from Mauger as a non starter.

The night eventually got under way with all competitors willing to ride and the rain eventually stopped. Malcolm Simmons proved to be in a class of his own and rained supreme. [ Good joke that, pun like ] His 15 point maximum reflecting his mastery.

Next best was Chris Morton putting all those years of grass tracking in the wet to the test. And Speedway's brightest new kid on the block, Mike Lee showed class beyond his years to get on the podium.


Heat 1. Jessup, Pusey, Sanders, Ashby.
Heat 2. Crump, C Morton, Betts, D Morton.
Heat 3. Simmons, Kennett, MAUGER. Davis fall.
Heat 4. Lee, Collins, Boulger, Plech.
Heat 5. MAUGER, Lee, Ashby, Betts.
Heat 6. C Morton, Davis, Plech. Pusey fall/ex
Heat 7. Simmons, Crump. Sanders fall/ex. Boulger fall/ex.
Heat 8. D Morton, Jessup, Kennett, Collins.
Heat 9. Simmons, C Morton, Collins, Ashby.
Heat 10. Boulger, Betts, Kennett, Hines. Pusey ex/2 mins.
Heat 11. D Morton, MAUGER, Plech. Sanders ef.
Heat 12. Lee, Jessup, Thomas, Davis. Crump ex/tapes.
Heat 13. Crump, Ashby, Plech. Kennett ef.
Heat 14. Simmons, Hines, Lee, Pusey. D Morton ex/tapes.
Heat 15. Collins, Davis, Sanders. Betts ef.
Heat 16. C Morton, Jessup, Thomas. MAUGER fall/ex. Boulger ex/2 mins.
Heat 17. D Morton, Boulger, Ashby, Davis.
Heat 18. Collins, Crump, MAUGER, Hines. Pusey ns.
Heat 19. C Morton, Lee, Sanders, Thomas. Kennett ns.
Heat 20. Simmons, Jessup, Betts, Plech.
3rd place run-off. Lee, Jessup.


Malcolm Simmons 15. Chris Morton 13. Mike Lee 11. Dave Jessup 11. Phil Crump 10. Dave Morton 9. Peter Collins 9. IVAN MAUGER 7. John Boulger 6. Martin Ashby 4. Terry Betts 4. John Davis 4. Gordon Kennett 4. Zenon Plech 3. Billy Sanders 3. Chris Pusey 2. Res Mick Hines 2. Res Barry Thomas 2. Tommy Jansson Q ns +. Ole Olsen Q banned. John Louis, Scott Autrey and Dag Lovaas all invited but declined.


This article was first published on 3rd May 2020

[ Use Mobile Version ]


Comment on this Article | Contact Us | Go Back to Main Menu

   Please leave your comments on this article or on the site as a whole