Home Contact Us Stadia Pix Articles All About You Riders to Remember
DVDs Books Pictures Archive Dream Teams Programme Generator
13/06/2021
Irish Eyes Were Smiling
Plus Points
Your Feedback
 
31/05/2021
King's Lynn - 1
Plus Points
Your Feedback
 
23/05/2021
Speedway in Germany 1933
Dream Team : Kevin Huggett
Plus Points
Your Feedback
 
09/05/2021
The Bill Allen Mystery
Your Feedback
 
02/05/2021
The Ipswich Witches
The Danger of Winning
Your Feedback
 
25/04/2021
Australia 70/71
Canterbury Noise Trials
Your Feedback
 
28/03/2021
2020 Review - Part 8
Kualar Lumpar 2007/08
Your Feedback
 
21/03/2021
2020 Review - Part 7
Shanghai 1930
Your Feedback
 
14/03/2021
2020 Review - Part 6
Singapore 1930
Your Feedback
 
07/03/2021
2020 Review - Part 5
Peter Clark
 
28/02/2021
2020 Review - Part 4
Still Flying High
Your Feedback
 
21/02/2021
2020 Review - Part 3
Harold MacNaughton
Your Feedback
 
14/02/2021
Olle Nygren
2020 Review - Part 2
Your Feedback
 
07/02/2021
2020 Review - Part 1
Your Feedback
 
31/01/2021
Debut: Joe Screen
Plus Points
Your Feedback
 
24/01/2021
Review: Blood & Cinders
Your Feedback
 
17/01/2021
Tai Deserves a Gong
The J.A.P is Modern Art
Plus Points
Your Feedback
 
03/01/2021
Snapshots of Yesteryear
Snapshots of Yesteryear
Snapshots of Yesteryear
Plus Points
Your Feedback
 
27/12/2020
The Polish Problem
Mauger, Nielsen. World Finals.
Plus Points
Your Feedback
 
16/12/2020
Simon Wigg Racing Plus!
 
10/12/2020
Review: Saving Speedway
 
06/12/2020
Great Races of the 70s/80s
The BLRC 1984
Plus Points
Your Feedback
 
22/11/2020
Book Review: Dave Jessup
The BLRC 1983
Leif "Basse" Hveem
Your Feedback
 
15/11/2020
When Did it Start to Decline?
The BLRC 1982
Tracking Down the Swagman
Your Feedback
 
08/11/2020
Review: Before Air Fences
THE BLRC 1981
Dagenham
Your Feedback
 
01/11/2020
Review: Who Gates Wins
The BLRC 1980
Owlerton in the Sixties
Plus Points
Your Feedback
 
25/10/2020
Doyle's Triple Crown
The BLRC 1979
Your Feedback
 
11/10/2020
New Cross Album 1936
The BLRC 1978
Your Feedback
 
04/10/2020
Sheffield 60s & 70s
The BLRC 1977
John Pilblad
Your Feedback
 


Book Review:
Quantum of Shale
Round the Tracks
By Jeff Scott

The big Cardiff weekend is now a speedway tradition dating back to the turn of the century. In recent years another tradition has emerged at this time of year - Jeff Scott publishes his latest book.

His 2009 offering is entitled "Quantum of Shale - Round the Tracks" and, as before, is published under the Methanol Press brand.

His 2008 offering 'Concrete for Breakfast' was nominated in the Best Biography category at the British Sports Book Awards 2009 and this has obviously given him the boost required to carry on with his writing. I'm sure that Jeff would admit that the critical acclaim his books have received has not (yet) been reflected in the sales levels.

This is the fourth consecutive season that Scott has published a travelogue of his trips to the tracks. So many of the riders, promoters and tracks featured in his 2005 adventures are no longer part of the speedway scene that it's almost now a historical document. His books in general will certainly bear repeated reading in years to come and will offer valuable insights into the sport in the early part of this century.

If you're familiar with Scott's earlier books then you'll know exactly what you're getting with this one, there's no dramatic change of concept or tone this time around. He simply tells it as it is, though this approach does seem to make him enemies as well as friends. His technique of quoting conversations 'verbatim' has always been controversial. Martin Dadswell from Eastbourne nurses a grievance about last year's book claiming "He's misquoted me again in it. I wouldn't call him numbnuts, would I? I'd call him a ****!". Brian Oldham is another that takes this up with the author - "You misquoted...I would never have said that. At least, I now know you write fiction."

That Jeff includes these comments in the book shows that he's not above poking fun at himself as well as others.

When so many quotes are included there's always a very good chance that such things will happen. The only alternative would be to leave out the quotes entirely, but then we'd miss out on valuable insights such as:

"I'll tell you what I'm doing, I'm asking each rider for their address and postcode as they arrive so I can work out the travel properly! The first rider through the gate - I'll give you three guesses who - refused to tell me!" (Sheffield promoter Neil Machin on the PLRC night)

"At the start of the year, when crowds were poor, people said it was the credit crunch but, now we're doing well, crowds are up. So, it shows people have it when they want it." (Mike Hunter of Edinburgh)

On young speedway riders - " They're often boys in a man's world! It's a hard lifestyle - or lack of it, really - the travel, the injuries, the sports psychology. Unless you've done it, you just don't know what's involved! Or, as they say, unless you've felt the burn of the tyre on your leg you really have no idea what it's like to ride a bike competitively!" (Claudia Staechmann - Wife of Jan)

"In 2007, we used to get 1,200 fans and, in 2008, we get 600 to 650 fans. Last week it was 653 fans. The away fans have dropped off. Last week we had Sheffield and they brought about 30 people max. If we take £6k, I have to give a substantial amount straight to the VAT man. Everything costs. It's unbelievable! The cleaning is £50 a week. It costs 350 quid to empty the septic tank. I have to pay the staff. We spend 350 quid per meeting on shale - we've used 100 tons this year so far. We lose tons of shale over the fence!" (Glyn Taylor)

That last quote comes from the chapter on the Redcar v Workington meeting in July which is as good a piece of speedway writing as you're ever likely to read. It perfectly captures the stress that promoter Glyn Taylor is feeling in the build up to the meeting as his professional life appears to be spiralling out of control. He's an honest man in debt and actually being physically sick with the resultant worry about the future of his riders, his track and himself.

That's not the kind of thing you would ever read in Speedway Star magazine, the reports they publish would likely extend no further than commenting on 'concerns' over the financial position. That's where this book comes into its own, it's engaging, brutally honest and tells you about aspects of the 2008 season that would have otherwise gone unreported.

Strangely the weakest sections of the book are probably the descriptions of the racing itself, the insights gathered before and after each meeting are infinitely more interesting than the recap of the on track action. As always the coverage of the racing is mixed with the witty asides of the people standing around Jeff, many of them summing up the good nature so prevalent in speedway folk. During the 4TT at Workington an announcement concerning a window being left open on a Skoda solicited the following comment from one female spectator - "No one would want to nick that! Come on, the worst thing that could happen is that someone could throw litter into it!". A good line and one now captured forever, along with many others, within the pages of this book.

Fittingly the book ends on an emotional evening in Berkshire as the Reading Racers staged the final meeting at Smallmead. The author first set eyes on the sport at that very same track and you suspect that the poignancy of the occasion affected him more than he lets on. Despite this he's still able to make a few acerbic comments about the odd flaws in the celebration that evening.

If you've never read one of Jeff's books then start with this one and work backwards. It provides an insight into a world that you'll instantly recognise and introduce you to many of the characters involved in our wonderful sport. Fans of his previous books can rest assured that this is at least as good as what has come before it, perhaps even his best yet. It's thought provoking, funny and controversial in equal measure and a thoroughly enjoyable read.

'Quantum of Shale' is available to purchase now from www.methanolpress.com and will be on sale at Cardiff on Saturday.

 

This book is available from www.methanolpress.com

 

This article was first published on 25th June 2009

[ Use Mobile Version ]
 

 

Comment on this Article | Contact Us | Go Back to Main Menu

   Please leave your comments on this article or on the site as a whole