Home Contact Us Stadia Pix Articles All About You Riders to Remember
DVDs Books Pictures Archive Dream Teams Programme Generator
Book Review: Bert Harkins
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1993
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Leningrad Visit Britain
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1992
Plus Points
Your Feedback
90th Anniversary Celebration
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1991
Plus Points
It's All About You: Richard Goodwin
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1990
Your Feedback
Where Were They Then?
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1989
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Track Pix: UFA
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1988
New Book: Bert Harkins Biog.
Your Feedback
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1987
Your Feedback
It's All About You: Colin Hodgson
Plaque for Road Bikes
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1986
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Riders to Remember: Wal Morton
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1985
Your Feedback
It's All About You....Paul Davey
2018 NZ Championship
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1984
Plus Points
Your Feedback
It's All About You: Fred Pallett
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1983
Plus Points
Your Feedback
South African Tour 1951
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1982
Plus Points
Your Feedback
DVD: Coventry Memories
New Hope at Oxford?
Hope Exhausted for Dons
Your Feedback
DVD Review: 101 BIG Moments
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1981
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Review: Speedway at Full Throttle
The Vestry Museum
Your Feedback
Book Review: Backtracking 3
Speedway Specials
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Track Pix: Hertingen
It's All About You: John Hyam
Your Feedback
DVD: Shawn Moran Racing
12th California Reunion
Your Feedback
The Tebbys - Stan and Jim
California 2017 Reunion
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Trouble for Monarchs
Svein Kaasa Cuttings
Your Feedback
What Happened to our "Season"
Riders to Remember: Ray Moore
Your Feedback

The World Pairs Final - 1968
By Tracy Holmes

If you look deep enough, you will see that many record books say the first World Pairs Final was in 1970. And technically, that's correct however, the first two were prototypes and the winners were presented with FIM Gold Medals.

It was on September 1 at Kempten, West Germany that Sweden won the inaugural event. An event that suffered the effects of 'The Prague Spring' [ google it ] before the tapes went up. Here is how it was reported in Speedway Star,

'The political situation in Eastern Europe caused Poland's Zbigniew Podlecki and Henryk Zyto to withdraw and they were replaced by a Danish pair Jens Hauser and Kurt Petersen. The Soviet Union withdrew earlier than Poland.'

Norway's original pair was Sverre Harrfeldt and Reider Eide. But both were under suspension for having ridden in the European Final against Warsaw Pact countries. Harrfeldt was seriously injured there and could not have ridden anyway but Eide was out! Then the Czechoslovakian pair of Jan Holub and Lubos Tomicek were forced to withdraw and were replaced by a second West German pair.

On the day, the Swedes Ove Fundin and Tobjorn Harrysson had no trouble securing the winners cheques, dropping just one point to the West German ace, Manfred Poschenreider who took a point off Harrysson. Great Britain by Ray Wilson [ England ] and Geoff Mudge [ Australia ] beaten only by the Swedes in the first heat, certainly justified their race jackets.

Disaster for the home number 1 team in their first race when Manfred Poschenreider took out his own partner Rainer Jungling, who was unable to continue. He was replaced by Fred Aberl. Poschenreider's next 3 races saw him make amends.



1 Fundin Harrysson Mudge Wilson

2 Fossengen Berg Hauser Petersen

3 Mudge Wilson Jungling [f] Poschenreider [f]

4 Fundin Harrysson Barth Kastl

5 Poschenreider Hauser Aberl Petersen

6 Fossengen Barth Berg Kastl

7 Mudge Wilson Petersen Hauser

8 Fundin Harrysson Fossengen Berg

9 Poschenreider Barth Kastl Aberl

10 Mudge Wilson Fossengen Berg

11 Barth Kastl Hauser Petersen

12 Fundin Poschenreider Harrysson Aberl

13 Wilson Mudge Barth Kastl

14 Fossengen Berg Aberl Poschenreider

15 Harrysson Fundin Petersen Hauser


1st Sweden 24
Ove Fundin 3 3 3 3 2 14
Torbjorn Harrysson 2 2 2 1 3 10

2nd Great Britain 21
Geoff Mudge 1 3 3 3 2 12
Ray Wilson 0 2 2 2 3 9

3rd Norway 16
Odd Fossengen 3 3 1 1 3 11
Oyvind Berg 2 1 0 0 2 5

4th West Germany [2] 12
Peter Barth 1 2 2 3 1 9
Rudi Kastl 0 0 1 2 0 3

5th West Germany [1] 10
M. Poschenreider f 3 3 2 0 8
R. Jungling f - - - - 0
Fred Aberl - 1 0 0 1 2

6th Denmark 6
Jens Hauser 1 2 0 1 0 4
Kurt Petersen 0 0 1 0 1 2

If anyone has a snap of the first 3 on the podium, please share it with us, Cheers!


This article was first published on 6th July 2014


  • Peter:

    "Great article, brings back memories of other great racing and politics from that time"

    [ Use Mobile Version ]


    Comment on this Article | Contact Us | Go Back to Main Menu

  •    Please leave your comments on this article or on the site as a whole