Home Contact Us Stadia Pix Articles All About You Riders to Remember
DVDs Books Pictures Archive Dream Teams Programme Generator
Dream Team : Geoff Langley
Your Feedback
Gerald Dunn's JAP
Your Feedback
1975 World Final. Heat 20.
Your Feedback
Peter Collins Autobiography
Your Feedback
DVD Review: 70s - A to Z
Your Feedback
Why is it in decline?
Plus Points
Dream Team: Garry Robinson
The Golden Hammer - 1996
Your Feedback
Raking Over Old Coals
The Golden Hammer - 1995
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Ode to Brough Park
The Golden Hammer - 1994
Which Craven?
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Ivan Miller
The Golden Hammer - 1993
Your Feedback
Generator - Prem Pairs
The Golden Hammer - 1992
As The Crow Flies
The Golden Hammer - 1991
Generator - Danish League
The Golden Hammer - 1990
Your Feedback
Oxford's Minor Miracle
The Golden Hammer - 1989
The Golden Hammer - 1986
The Golden Hammer - 1987
The Golden Hammer - 1988
The Golden Hammer - 1983
The Golden Hammer - 1984
The Golden Hammer - 1985
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Golden Hammer - 1980
The Golden Hammer - 1981
The Golden Hammer - 1982
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Golden Hammer - 1977
The Golden Hammer - 1978
The Golden Hammer - 1979
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Speedway Bike
Your Feedback
45 Years a Racer
Your Feedback

The Golden Hammer - 1983
By Tracy Holmes and Steve Baker

July 27. 1983.

Speedway's Golden Eagle had long since flown off to the Hollywood hills. But now, a fledgling had emerged to challenge the best.

Nineteen-year-old, Young American, Lance King stunned the Speedway world by taking home the Hammer, beating a field of dreams. The Cradley favourite kicked off by equalling the track record in round one. Later dropping just one point to World Number 2, Les Collins, he humiliated the rest, coming from behind in three rides. That included his last heat that he had to win to take the Title outright. Hans Nielsen made the gate but King put it over him, avoiding a run-off.

There was a run-off for second place and the home crowd had double delight as Erik Gundersen hammered Dennis Sigalos.

Heat 1. Gundersen, Schwartz, Knudsen, Wigg.
Heat 2. King, Crump, Olsen, Morton.
Heat 3. Sigalos, Nielsen, Phil Collins, Alan Grahame.
Heat 4. Andy Grahame, Carter, Les Collins, Peter Collins.
Heat 5. Sigalos, Olsen, Knudsen, Les Collins.
Heat 6. Nielsen, Schwartz, Morton, Carter.
Heat 7. Crump, Wigg, Andy Grahame, Phil Collins.
Heat 8. King, Alan Grahame, Gundersen, Peter Collins ef
Heat 9. Morton, Phil Collins, Peter Collins, Knudsen.
Heat 10. Andy Grahame, Alan Grahame, Schwartz, Olsen.
Heat 11. King, Sigalos, Carter. Wigg ef
Heat 12. Gundersen, Les Collins, Nielsen, Crump.
Heat 13. Knudsen, Alan Grahame, Crump, Carter.
Heat 14. Les Collins, King, Schwartz, Phil Collins.
Heat 15. Nielsen, Wigg, Peter Collins, Olsen.
Heat 16. Gundersen, Sigalos, Andy Grahame, Morton.
Heat 17. King, Nielsen, Andy Grahame, Knudsen.
Heat 18. Sigalos, Schwartz, Crump, Peter Collins.
Heat 19. Alan Grahame, Les Collins, Morton, Wigg.
Heat 20. Gundersen, Phil Collins, Olsen, Carter.
Run-off for 2nd. Gundersen, Sigalos.

Lance King 14. Erik Gundersen 13. Dennis Sigalos 13. Hans Nielsen 11. Alan Grahame 9. Andy Grahame 9. Les Collins 8. Bobby Schwartz 8. Phil Crump 7. Tommy Knudsen 5. Chris Morton 5. Phil Collins 5. Simon Wigg 4. Ole Olsen 4. Kenny Carter 3. Peter Collins 2. Res Peter Ravn dnr. Res Jan O Pedersen dnr.


This article was first published on 27th March 2022

[ Use Mobile Version ]


Comment on this Article | Contact Us | Go Back to Main Menu

   Please leave your comments on this article or on the site as a whole