Home Contact Us Stadia Pix Articles All About You Riders to Remember
DVDs Books Pictures Archive Dream Teams Programme Generator
Dream Team : Geoff Langley
Your Feedback
Gerald Dunn's JAP
Your Feedback
1975 World Final. Heat 20.
Your Feedback
Peter Collins Autobiography
Your Feedback
DVD Review: 70s - A to Z
Your Feedback
Why is it in decline?
Plus Points
Dream Team: Garry Robinson
The Golden Hammer - 1996
Your Feedback
Raking Over Old Coals
The Golden Hammer - 1995
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Ode to Brough Park
The Golden Hammer - 1994
Which Craven?
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Ivan Miller
The Golden Hammer - 1993
Your Feedback
Generator - Prem Pairs
The Golden Hammer - 1992
As The Crow Flies
The Golden Hammer - 1991
Generator - Danish League
The Golden Hammer - 1990
Your Feedback
Oxford's Minor Miracle
The Golden Hammer - 1989
The Golden Hammer - 1986
The Golden Hammer - 1987
The Golden Hammer - 1988
The Golden Hammer - 1983
The Golden Hammer - 1984
The Golden Hammer - 1985
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Golden Hammer - 1980
The Golden Hammer - 1981
The Golden Hammer - 1982
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Golden Hammer - 1977
The Golden Hammer - 1978
The Golden Hammer - 1979
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Speedway Bike
Your Feedback
45 Years a Racer
Your Feedback

The Golden Hammer - 1984
By Tracy Holmes and Steve Baker

June 27. 1984.

Once again it's Steve Johnson sharing the action for Speedway Star. "Cradley's longest serving rider Alan Grahame, for once grabbed the glory by deservedly winning the prestigious Golden Hammer. Grahame emerged from the shadows to lift the biggest trophy of his career, leading team-mate Phil Collins from start to finish in a run-off for first place. After battling his way past Preben Eriksen and a very disappointing Erik Gundersen to take what proved to be a crucial second place in Heat 4, the ever-popular and consistent Grahame reeled off three consecutive wins to put himself in pole position. He needed just two points from his last ride to clinch an outright victory but had to be content with third after last year's winner Lance King forced his way past. That meant a run-off with Collins and although the Cradley flier was always on Grahame's tail, he never really looked like getting by."

Heat 1. King, Nielsen, Jensen, Steve Collins. Schwartz ex/tapes
Heat 2. Phil Collins, Sanders, Crump, Andy Grahame.
Heat 3. Guglielmi, Cross, Morton, SHIRRA.
Heat 4. Wigg, Alan Grahame, Gundersen, Eriksen.
Heat 5. Crump, Cross, Wigg, Jensen.
Heat 6. Phil Collins, King, Gundersen, Guglielmi.
Heat 7. Morton, Eriksen, Sanders, Schwartz.
Heat 8. Alan Grahame, Nielsen, Andy Grahame. SHIRRA ret.
Heat 9. Alan Grahame, Morton, Phil Collins, Jensen.
Heat 10. King, Crump, SHIRRA, Eriksen.
Heat 11. Andy Grahame, Schwartz, Gundersen, Cross.
Heat 12. Guglielmi, Sanders, Wigg, Nielsen.
Heat 13. Sanders, Gundersen, SHIRRA, Jensen.
Heat 14. Morton, Andy Grahame, King, Wigg.
Heat 15. Alan Grahame, Crump, Guglielmi, Schwartz.
Heat 16. Nielsen, Phil Collins, Eriksen, Cross.
Heat 17. Eriksen, Guglielmi, Andy Grahame, Jensen.
Heat 18. Sanders, King, Alan Grahame, Cross.
Heat 19. Phil Collins, Wigg, Schwartz, SHIRRA.
Heat 20. Nielsen, Morton, Crump, Gundersen.
Run-off. Alan Grahame, Phil Collins.

Alan Grahame 12. Phil Collins 12. Billy Sanders 11. Chris Morton 11. Lance King 11. Hans Nielsen 10. Phil Crump 9. Gary Guglielmi 9. Andy Grahame 7. Simon Wigg 7. Preben Eriksen 6. Erik Gundersen 5. Simon Cross 4. Bobby Schwartz 3. MITCH SHIRRA 2. Finn Jensen 1. Res Steve Collins 0. Res Mike Wilding dnr. Bo Petersen ns.


This article was first published on 27th March 2022

[ Use Mobile Version ]


Comment on this Article | Contact Us | Go Back to Main Menu

   Please leave your comments on this article or on the site as a whole