Home Contact Us Stadia Pix Articles All About You Riders to Remember
DVDs Books Pictures Archive Dream Teams Programme Generator
Dream Team : Geoff Langley
Your Feedback
Gerald Dunn's JAP
Your Feedback
1975 World Final. Heat 20.
Your Feedback
Peter Collins Autobiography
Your Feedback
DVD Review: 70s - A to Z
Your Feedback
Why is it in decline?
Plus Points
Dream Team: Garry Robinson
The Golden Hammer - 1996
Your Feedback
Raking Over Old Coals
The Golden Hammer - 1995
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Ode to Brough Park
The Golden Hammer - 1994
Which Craven?
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Ivan Miller
The Golden Hammer - 1993
Your Feedback
Generator - Prem Pairs
The Golden Hammer - 1992
As The Crow Flies
The Golden Hammer - 1991
Generator - Danish League
The Golden Hammer - 1990
Your Feedback
Oxford's Minor Miracle
The Golden Hammer - 1989
The Golden Hammer - 1986
The Golden Hammer - 1987
The Golden Hammer - 1988
The Golden Hammer - 1983
The Golden Hammer - 1984
The Golden Hammer - 1985
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Golden Hammer - 1980
The Golden Hammer - 1981
The Golden Hammer - 1982
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Golden Hammer - 1977
The Golden Hammer - 1978
The Golden Hammer - 1979
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Speedway Bike
Your Feedback
45 Years a Racer
Your Feedback

The Golden Hammer - 1988
By Tracy Holmes and Steve Baker

28 July. 1988.

World Champion, Hans Nielsen, despite a duck in round 1, at last got Hammered!

With his key rivals all dropping crucial points, he was able to take control and then win the triple run-off. This was a long time coming and with the treasured trophy safely tucked away, this was a very happy Hans!

Jan O Pedersen had to win round five for the Title, lost it to Nielsen. Then again in the run-off yet still managed a smile for the podium. Erik Gundersen, shooting for the Triple Crown, started well but duffed round three. Still, victory in the last round would take the Trophy. He's probably still wondering how he missed that one!

The evergreen Chris Morton had a super night and like Gundersen, winning round five would have seen him take the Title. Well, he held off Erik but was unable to catch Cradley's favourite Simon Cross.

As for the lone-star Kiwi MITCH SHIRRA, one win between four ducks! What on earth???

Heat 1. Cross, K Moran, Alan Grahame, Handberg.
Heat 2. Morton, Pedersen, Wigg, Havelock.
Heat 3. Gundersen, Tatum, King, Nielsen.
Heat 4. Doncaster, Knudsen, Silver, SHIRRA.
Heat 5. Cross, King, Wigg, SHIRRA.
Heat 6. Gundersen, Pedersen, K Moran, Knudsen.
Heat 7. Tatum, Doncaster, Handberg, Havelock.
Heat 8. Nielsen, Morton, Alan Grahame, Silver.
Heat 9. Pedersen, Silver, Tatum, Cross.
Heat 10. Nielsen, Wigg, Doncaster, K Moran.
Heat 11. Morton, Knudsen, King, Handberg.
Heat 12. SHIRRA, Alan Grahame, Gundersen, Havelock.
Heat 13. Nielsen, Knudsen, Cross, Havelock.
Heat 14. K Moran, Morton, Tatum, SHIRRA.
Heat 15. Gundersen, Silver, Handberg, Wigg.
Heat 16. Pedersen, Alan Grahame, Doncaster, King.
Heat 17. Cross, Morton, Gundersen, Doncaster.
Heat 18. King, K Moran, Silver, Havelock.
Heat 19. Nielsen, Pedersen, Handberg, SHIRRA.
Heat 20. Knudsen, Wigg, Tatum, Alan Grahame.
1st place run-off. Nielsen, Pedersen, Morton.

Hans Nielsen 12. Jan O Pedersen 12. Chris Morton 12. Erik Gundersen 11. Simon Cross 10. Tommy Knudsen 9. Kelly Moran 8. Kelvin Tatum 8. Lance King 7. Jeremy Doncaster 7. Alan Grahame 6. Simon Wigg 6. Andrew Silver 6. Gert Handberg 3. MITCH SHIRRA 3. Gary Havelock 0. Res David Walsh dnr. Res Wayne Garratt dnr.


This article was first published on 3rd April 2022

[ Use Mobile Version ]


Comment on this Article | Contact Us | Go Back to Main Menu

   Please leave your comments on this article or on the site as a whole